Locating a rental isn’t the same for everybody. After all, people might have various barriers, for instance, criminal records, revenue restrictions, and disabilities. It’s important you recognize your rights even if you have the ideal rental history.
Understanding your rights and knowing how to implement them can help you become a better renter and provide peace of mind. If you’re thinking of renting in Houston, Texas state law offers rights to protect renters from discrimination.
Recognizing these rights can help you establish whether a violation has occurred and if necessary, take action to defend yourself. Here’s what you should know:
Towing and Parking Policies and Rules
If you reside in a complex with various units with the same manager and owner, the landlord should provide a written car towing/parking policies and rules that apply. The landlord should also provide copies of any associated changes throughout the lease’s term.
To change the policies and rules during the lease’s term, the landlord should either acquire your written consent or the changes should be based on safety, necessity, or security and they should apply to all renters in the complex.
Unless the changes are the result of a utility or construction emergency, you should obtain 14 days’ notice before the changes become effective. Irrespective of whether the landlord gives you appropriate notice concerning towing/parking rules, the property owner is liable for any damage to your vehicle that arises from the negligence of the hired towing service.
If you wish to obtain your security deposit in Texas, you should beware of certain rules. In this state, a landlord might have the right to maintain all or a segment of your security deposit for these reasons:
Violation of the lease
If you’ve violated your lease but finds a replacement renter who’ll move in before or on the date the lease ends.
Damage beyond ordinary wear and tear
If you don’t provide advance notice before you vacate the rental and it’s spelled out clearly in the lease (either in bold print or underlined).
Returning the Security Deposit
In Texas, the property owner has 30 days from the time you move out to return your security deposit. An exception occurs if you hadn’t provided a forwarding address in which case a landlord doesn’t need to make an effort to return the deposit until you provide your forwarding address.
If the proprietor has made any deductions from your security deposit, he or she should send you the balance of your security deposit balance together with an itemized list of any damages and the approximate repair cost.
As a renter, you’re entitled to the following:
- The right to safety and health in your rental
- Your landlord is obligated to repair any conditions in your rental that affect your safety and health negatively.
- The right to security
- The landlord should offer fundamental security measures for your rental, including window latches, locks, and deadbolts
Visitors and Occupants
Housing laws forbid discrimination against families with kids. For instance, it’s illegal for a landlord to deny you a rental simply because you have children.
When it comes to visitors, a landlord can’t restrict visitors provided they don’t disturb other residents or breach some other lease provision. It’s better to work out things with the landlord before you end up in court.
As a renter, you must know your rights so you can protect yourself against evictions, money loss, and lawsuits. If you’re a first-time renter, this guide will reveal some of the laws you should beware of.
For more information on the legal stuff about renting an apartment, contact us at Apartment Agents or leave a comment.